Login or Register to hide advertisements

I practice roughly 15-30 minutes a week.

The art and science of piano performance and technique
Post a reply

I practice roughly 15-30 minutes a week.

Postby BrokenFingers » 16 Sep 2009, 21:18

I've been playing for 9 months or so now, and I have a bit of talent I guess. After three months I learned Chopin's (overplayed) Nocturne in C-Sharp op. ph then 1st Arabesque, then (the even more overplayed) Nocturne in Eb Op. 9 no. 2 and now I'm learning Rachmaninoff Prelude in C Sharp Minor op 3 no 2.

The problem is that it takes me quite awhile to learn these pieces, because I practice so little. My life has been spent with very little discipline so I tend to be really lazy when it comes to these things. Did anyone here ever have a similar problem and do you have any advice?
"If a composer could say what he had to say with words, he would not bother trying to say it with music" -Mahler
BrokenFingers
Registered Musician

Re: I practice roughly 15-30 minutes a week.

Postby PianistSk8er » 17 Sep 2009, 21:52

I used to practice all the time, but ever since I moved away from home, it's been very difficult to find a good piano to practice on, and I rarely practice more than once a week. I suppose it's like anything else... You need to really make an effort to integrate it into your schedule. Maybe every day after supper for thirty minutes or something similar. After all, it won't practice itself!

Good luck, and let us know how it goes. Wish I could be more helpful...
PianistSk8er
Violin Concerto Enthusiast
Violin Concerto Enthusiast

Postby ele03piano » 26 Nov 2009, 05:00

.., I've been playing piano for years.. nobody taught.. except that someone taught me how to use the guitar... I guess if you know how to play other instrument it would just be easy for you to learn how to read notes and how to play the piano well... left hand works out naturally if you practice a lot.. consider internet helps as well.. Good day..