Back to Home Forum Index

Etude 10/4

Discussion of stress, skills and technique associated with the performance of this instrument.
Post a reply

Etude 10/4

Postby Ethereal792 on Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:54 am

Well, I guess I'll kill two birds with one stone and introduce myself and ask for help at the same time.

I'm an avid pianist with about 10 years experience. I'm 16 (and a half :D) years old. Chopin is by far my favorite composer, and it was pretty awesome to discover a forum dedicated to the great Chopin. Since it's summer, I'm learning a whole new repertoire, one being the Etude 10/4. Does anyone here have any suggestions on how to learn this piece, or advice to conquer the technicality of the piece? Thanks! Also, what would be the "difficulty comparison" of the Etude 10/4 to the Ballade No. 2?

Regards
Life without music is an error.
Ethereal792
Registered Musician

Postby PJF on Thu Jul 27, 2006 11:57 pm

Practice it w/o ped. and HANDS SEPERATE! Use a metronome and practice it at precisely half tempo. The etude is technically harder, while the ballade is more artistically demanding. Which is more difficult? It depends much on the performer. For example, technique is not a problem to me, I always find creating art more difficult than simply hitting the right notes. So, to me, the ballade is harder. For a pianist with a developing technique, the etude may very well be much harder.
Last edited by PJF on Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Per Sapientiam Felicitas!

Pete
PJF
Moderato(r)
Moderato(r)

Postby nathf on Sun Jul 30, 2006 9:50 am